Thursday, January 17, 2013

USWNT Learns Its Placement In 2013 Algarve Cup

The US Women's National Team announced Thursday they will join Iceland, China and Sweden in Group B for the 20th annual Algarve Cup tournament March 6-13 in Portugal.

Group A in the 12-team field features Germany, Denmark, Japan and Norway, while Group C has host country Portugal, Hungary, Wales and Mexico.

The USWNT, making its 18th trip to Portugal for the tournament, which they have won a record eight times, including three straight times from 2003 to 2005, finished third in the 2012 tournament with a 4-0 victory over Sweden behind the first career hat trick by Alex Morgan and a goal by Abby Wambach.

The US is 49-10-8 in tournament history.

They will open group play March 6 against Iceland, then face China March 8, and end March 11 against Sweden in both teams' first meeting since former USWNT head coach Pia Sundhage resigned to return to her native country to become their head coach.

Match locations and kickoff times have not been announced.

On March 13, the winners of Groups A and B will meet for the Algarve Cup championship March 13, the second-place finishers will play for third place and the third-place finishers meet for the fifth place title. The winner of Group C will face the best fourth-place team from A or B for seventh place, the second-place team meets the worst fourth-place team from A or B for ninth place, and the third- and fourth-place Group C teams play each other for 11th place.

No comments:

Post a Comment