Wednesday, January 23, 2013

CONCACAF Gold Cup Field Nearly Set, Host Sites Announced

The US Men's National Team will play host to 11 other teams from CONCACAF in the 2012 Gold Cup tournament July 7-28 and, Wednesday, CONCACAF announced most of the teams in the field and the 13 US cities that will host tournament games.

As host, the US is an automatic qualifier, as do Mexico and Canada.

Joining the field through qualifying tournaments are Cuba, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti, Martinique, Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador and first-time entrant Belize.

The 11th team will be decided Friday when Guatemala and Panama meet for fifth place in the current Copa Centroamericano tournament and the final Central American berth in the bi-annual Gold Cup field.

Also Friday, Honduras meets Belize and Costa Rica faces El Salvador in the semifinals of the tournament, with winners playing for the title and losers for third place Sunday.

As for the 13 venues, five have held previous Gold Cup tournaments -- Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX (2009 and 2011), Soldier Field in Chicago (2007, 2009, 2011), the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA (1991, 2002, 2012), Red Bull Arena in Harrison, NJ (2011) and CenturyLink Field in Seattle (2005, 2009).

The others are:

- Georgia Dome in Atlanta

- M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore

- Sports Authority Field at Mile High in Denver

- Rentschler Field in East Hartford, CT

- BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston

- Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens, FL

- JELD-WEN Field in Portland, OR

- Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, UT

A venue for the championship final will soon be announced by CONCACAF.

No comments:

Post a Comment