Wednesday, October 26, 2011

USWNT Group B Schedule Set For CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Tournament

The US Women's National Team Wednesday announced the schedule of games in Group B play at the 2012 CONCACAF Olympic Women's Soccer Qualifying Tournament, set for Janaury 19-29, with all games taking place at remodeled BC Place in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Monday, the world's top ranked women's team was placed in their group, along with the Dominican Republic, Guatemala and Mexico, and that's the order of how they'll play the other countries in group play -- meeting the Domincan Repblic January 20 at 7:30 p.m. Pacific time (10:30 p.m. Eastern time), then Guatemala January 22 at 4:30 p.m. Pacific time (7:30 p.m. Eastern time), and, finally, Mexico January 28 a 7:30 p.m. Pacific time (10:30 p.m. Eastern time).

Teams drawn to Group A were defending tournament champion Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba and Haiti.

The top two teams in each group after pool play will advance to the semifinals January 27, with winners of those games advancing to the field for the 2012 London Olympics and playing for the CONCACAF tournament championship.

No comments:

Post a Comment