Thursday, February 4, 2010

USL PDL Releases Central, Southern Schedules; Playoff Format Announced

United Soccer Leagues Thursday completed unveiling the 2010 Premier Development League schedule by releasing the schedules for the Central and Southern Conferences and announcing what the league's playoff format will be.

In the Central Conference, the Heartland Division will open their season May 7 and 8 as the Real Colorado Foxes host the Rochester Thunder.

The Heartland Division regular season champion Des Moines Menace will travel to the Springfield Demize May 12 and the division's schedule ends July 25 with two games.

In the conference's Great Lakes Division, the Cincinnati Kings will be the first opponent at home of the expansion Dayton Dutch Lions May 8, then the Kings welcome the defending regular season champion Kalamazoo Outrage May 15 before Kalamazoo heads to 2009 championship runner-up Chicago Fire Premier May 19.

The Great Lakes Division's schedule ends with five games on July 24.

Moving to the Southern Conference, the MidSouth Division opens play April 30 when the Laredo Heat host the Rio Grande Valley Bravos and, on April 31, the El Paso Patriots host the West Texas United Sockers.

In the Southeast Division, expansion Fort Lauderdale will head to the IMG Bradenton Academics May 7 and the defending divisional regular season champion Mississippi Brilla will host the New Orleans Jesters May 11.

For the 2010 USL PDL playoffs, the top two teams from each conference's divisions will qualify with the top seed of one division meeting the second-seeded team of the opposing division in the first round.

The four conference champions will then face off in a championship tournament hosted by one of the participants the next weekend.

For a complete look at the 2010 USL PDL schedule, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment